Haus in Giggleswick, Nr. Settle, Yorkshire Dales - Im Nationalpark gelegen, nur 20 Gehminuten von der Stadt Settle entfernt
Keine Erstattung für stornierte Buchungen.
Wonderful home for large group
Our group included 18 people. Ages ranged from 8 months to 84 yrs. The home was large enough to accommodate everyone with areas for group gatherings or quiet places for reading. On sunny days there was a nice space for children to play games outdoors with a nice table for adults to sit and look at the magnificent views. Several of us went on the walk that left right from the house. None of us had visited the Yorkshire area before and thought it was a beautiful area.
David answered all the questions asked and was helpful to the families that arrived first. This will be a family vacation we will long remember.
Lovely house in magnificent location
Woodlands was everything I'd hoped it would be. A party of 15 of us went for a family 60th birthday celebration and we were not disappointed. The house is spotlessly clean, and well equipped, with everything you would ever need to cater for a large gathering; the bedrooms were well appointed, the beds comfortable and there were plenty of towels. Little things were also not forgotten - plenty of spare loo rolls, tea towels, non-slip bath mats, coal/logs for the fire. The views from the house and the patio were gorgeous; there were plenty of walks to be done directly from the house, or a short drive away (we walked Pen-y-Ghent from Horton-in-Ribblesdale), and Settle, with its coffee shops and pubs, is only a 15 minute walk down the hill. We ate at the Hart's Head pub at the bottom of the road in Giggleswick on the Friday night, and at the Gamecock Inn in Austwick on the Saturday - both lovely meals in convivial surroundings. On the Sunday we catered for ourselves, and it was lovely to use the big dining room table and put out the candlesticks! My only very small niggle - and I'm sure this isn't something that can be mended! - is the low water pressure, meaning the showers were a bit of a dribble rather than a force of nature! But that didn't detract from a wonderful weekend away in a lovely house which ticked all the boxes. Thank you David!
The property affords relaxed grandeur in the multiple reception rooms, plenty of accommodation in the mixture of bedrooms, lovely views with the ever-changing light across the valley, and plenty of parking. Walks and cycle routes start from the door, and the facilities of Settle are just a short stroll away. David responded quickly to enquiries, and the property was in great shape when we arrived. As a meeting point for a re-union of friends from Scotland, Wales, Isle of Man, London and NW England this proved, yet again, a winning location.
Lovely views and great iocation
Really enjoyed our stay at this home where we celebrated a big family birthday. Rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The showers weren’t very powerful but adequate and plenty of hot water. Lovely dining room with large table, and candles provided. Open fire or log burner in rooms added to the warm atmosphere. We struggled a bit with cooking as the large range oven didn’t circulate air well and the uneven heat complicated our meal preparations, but in contrast the large hob was great. We’d have liked that the kitchenware had been cleaner as a number of things needing washing for use, and we’d have liked to have some modern kitchen scales too. The only other thing that let us down a little was the lack of really comfy armchairs & sofas downstairs. Younger members had no issues, but the elderly members of our party found the wicker furniture lacking in comfort and support. However, the spacious facilities and lovely views and outside dining, and plentiful parking spaces made up for any shortfalls. Added to that the house is in a brilliant location, lovely and quiet with amazing views of the hills and surrounding countryside, yet close to a pub and only around 10 minutes walk to the town centre, shops, cafes, river, etc. Lots of walking, cycling, and site seeing in the vicinity and within short driving distance. Overall we were really pleased with the accommodation and had a very happy and memorable family get together.
Beautiful house. Perfect for a family reunion.
The house gave us plenty of room to cook, eat and socialise together, and to back off and have our own space as well. Loads of crockery, cutlery, pots and pans and not in want of anything. Lovely walks straight from the house. All in all perfect!
Very expensive for what it was - lots of things were broken or not working....sorry!
I always, without exception appreciate feedback, so thanks for taking the time to review and thanks for your detailed list.
I'd like to address your feedback as clearly as possible.
With regard to price, the house sleeps 19 guests and is set up for family holidays, your group of 8 would have found much better value somewhere.
I believe I keep up with maintenance efficiently and the house is checked each week by the house keepers, but it's inevitable that we sometimes miss things and rely on feedback to get things right.
There are 2 dishwashers, I was aware of a recent compliant for one of them. They have both been replaced with new.
There are 2 kettles, you are the first guests to mention the switch being difficult to operate. The cleaners use the electric kettle each week and it's not a problem we can identify, but I'll keep an eye on it.
There are 3 fridges, I'm sorry you had a problem with the main fridge. I live at the back of the house and could have helped if you asked. You had turned the fridge off by mistake.
The vacuum cleaner plug getting hot is not something I can get to the bottom of, it's one of 2 used each week - we'll keep an eye on it.
Main bathroom and attic WC- apologies for the a bulb not working, both have been replaced.
There are 4 light bulbs in the cooker extractor, I have replaced the one not working.
You found the lighting levels in the sitting room inadequate - I apologise, this maybe my personal preference to have relatively low lighting levels, but I want the house to be fit for a variety of uses, so have changed the bulbs in the standard lamps as a compromise.
The loose seat in one of the bedrooms has been fixed.
Wet-room Wc flush - I agree is a little harder than the pneumatic flushes in some of the other bathrooms - but despite being older I believe it works well for an older Wc.. But I think this is subjective - so I'll keep an eye on it and if more people have problems with it I'll do something about it.
You titled your review "faded glory" - In part this is what I have tried to achieve - but it is a balance. I believe the house is well maintained and meticulously cleaned and prepared each week. I'm sorry it fell short of your expectations. We have over 1,000 guests a year and all groups are different but I do believe the website content and photographs are a good indication of what to expect.
Once again, I do genuinely appreciate your feed back.
Walking Breaks - wir bieten Mitte der Woche Wanderpausen von £ 950 - es gibt viele tolle Spaziergänge vom Haus aus, wir können Sie beraten oder sogar mit einem Wanderführer versorgen. Perfekt für die Yorkshire 3 Peaks.
Teambuilding und Abwesenheitstage - 2 Tage / 1 Nacht bilden £ 650
Leeds Bradford International ist 1 Stunde mit dem Auto entfernt.
2 Stationen, Settle und Giggleswick, beide mit Zügen nach Leeds (1 Stunde) oder von Carlisle (1 Stunde 30).
Lancaster (1 Stunde)
Settle ist 20 Minuten zu Fuß entfernt, Pubs, Restaurants, Pubs, Cafés, Geschäfte, Pool-Markt.
Es gibt ein gutes Pub mit Essen in Giggleswick, zehn Minuten zu Fuß vom Haus entfernt.